Cut the Junk from Your Web Prints

December 8, 2008

Picture This

You are printing off this news story on the Nobel Prize. USA Today‘s web site has a big photo of the subject, some social bookmark links, a giant banner, and ads on the side. When you go to print, it is two pages for this brief article. You just want to print the story on one page! What to do?

There are plenty of options: the site’s “Print This” feature, Print Selection, Cut & Paste to Word. These would work. Or you could use a handy web site called Print What You Like.

How Does it Work?

  1. Copy the web address of the page with the story (Highlight, CTRL+C).
  2. Go to Print What You Like.
  3. Paste the URL into the green box. (CTRL+V)
  4. Then, isolate the selection to print only what you want.

8 Responses to “Cut the Junk from Your Web Prints”

  1. B.N. Jones Says:

    Print selection from the print menu? But yeah, I get it.

  2. Christine Says:

    cool.

  3. Jai Says:

    Well done. I don’t print a lot from the web but I’ve been using this for 6 or 9 months.

    Thanks

  4. Jenny Says:

    You’ve been using this for 6-9 months? Come on man, pass along the tips! 🙂

  5. Phil K. Says:

    I like the concept but find this app a bit confusing and tedious. I tried http://www.Velonews.com – messed with several pieces but don’t really see the preview option.
    I guess I don’t get it.
    Thanks,

    Phil K.

    • Cook Says:

      It is not the best option for every site. Print-selection is usually my first option on most sites, but this is a nice back-up when that doesn’t work.

  6. Jenny Says:

    I don’t know that there is a preview option, now that you mention it. I think you just select what you want to print (after clicking the “Isolate” button) and then click Print.

  7. Glenn Worden Says:

    I’ll have to agree with Phil on this one. I tried this app with CNN. I also tried the same thing doing copy/paste to Word. I’m used to doing copy/paste and this app seemed more cumbersome. I could spend time using this app and build my confidence and speed, but I doubt I will. If nothing else works, I’ll give it a try.
    –Glenn


Leave a Reply

